About Us


A bit of the DSB history

The Defiance State Bank was chartered August 21,1951.  The original Board of Directors included:

  • E B Dopheide, Chairman
  • A J Ludwig, Chief Executive Officer
  • Louis Ahrenholtz
  • Anthony Arkfeld
  • Peter J Fromm

Mr. Dopheide, President of the Columbia Life Insurance Company of Sioux City, Iowa, was the primary organizer.

December 31,1951 The bank's total assets were $750,000.

Mr. Dopheide attempted to obtain a charter for Dow City in 1950.  At that time Mr. N. P. Black was Superintendent of the Iowa Department of Banking.  He went through the bank closings of the 1930's and granted new bank charters only rarely, however he authorized the opening of an office of the Defiance State Bank in Dow City.  The Dow City Office was opened June 1955.

December 1969 the bank became a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.  Depositors accounts became insured up to the maximum amount allowed, e.g. $25,000,  currently the amount of insurance is $250,000.

Earl L Powers was employed at Defiance State Bank for 44 years.  Earl started working at Defiance State Bank in 1958. Through his many years of service Earl held positions as Bank Manager, President, and Chairman of the Board.  Earl held the position as Chairman of the Board until the time of his death in April of 2002.  Earl, and his knowledge of the Banking Industry, will be greatly missed at Defiance State Bank. 

Current Board of Directors

Francis E. Powers, Chairman and President

Marcelene M. Powers

Rhonda Powers

Eugene J. Gross

Jean Croghan

Max Powers